A Day in the Life

EDIT: As you can see at the end of this post, I’d love to hear requests on what to write about. Allow me to expand upon that briefly: I’m open to requests to write about pretty much anything that I’m doing here, or just about Brazil in general, and you may also specify medium. For example, feel free to request to know what it’s like to go shopping here…in the form of a poem. Or a haiku. Or whatever. Just so that we don’t get bored! And never fear, silly little posts like that won’t be in lieu of my monthly, long posts, but just for a bit of fun! Now, read on:

I got a request to describe an average day for me here, which I think is a great idea, and also I’ve decided to incorporate pictures, because pictures make everything so much better. So, a rough sketch of a day in the life:

First of all, I wake up on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday at around 6:30. I kick off my covers (actually, I don’t kick them off just then, since they’ve certainly been kicked off already at some point during the night!) and getting ready for school.

my bed after I have clawed my way out of it in the morning.

I go to a private school, because apparently Brazilian public schools are really bad, and the private school has a “uniform,” but not the sort of uniform one might expect. You can wear whatever bottoms you want, but you have to wear a school t-shirt, like this one:

Or this one:

hehe I love how serious I look

In other words, your uniform is only the t-shirt and if you’ve been going to the school for practically your whole life (like most of the students have!) then you end up with a variety of shirts from different events, projects, etc., meaning that you still have a number of options as to what to wear each day. By the way, “COC” is the system of schools which our school is part of.

Anyway, I get ready for school and then eat breakfast, which is usually something quick and simple, usually bread with butter or requeijão (which is a sort of creamy soft cheese), and cappuccino.

School starts on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays at 7:15. On Wednesday and Friday, we don’t have a 7:15 class, so it starts at 8. I get to school, usually just in the nick of time, and get home in time for lunch. Lunch is so good. It is so delicious. And almost every day, we eat beans and rice. They are so yummy. I have tried to explain refried beans to the people here, but they just don’t understand (“You fry them??” “No, no, you sort of crush them…ah, never mind”).

After lunch, we usually watch the news, and then after that, anything goes. It really just depends on the day. Mondays, for example, I go to UNESP in Assis (a larger city next door to mine), which is essentially São Paulo State University Assis, for a Portuguese language class with some other exchange students. The class is pretty cool, because the first day it was ridiculously easy and I thought “nooo this is going to suck!” but then we ended up being split into two groups, English-speakers and Spanish-speakers (we also have an Italian!), because Spanish speakers progress much faster, so the class is harder now and that makes me happy. On Fridays after lunch I go back to school for an after school art class. I have only been once, but I really liked it so we’ll see what happens there! The other days it really depends, sometimes I go run errands in Assis with my host mom, other times I go do something with friends, things like that.

But that just about covers it for now; please, dear readers, suggest things for me to talk about! I don’t want to just describe what I do because that will get boring for us all after a while. What would you like to know? Ask me questions! Also do you like that I have pictures? I like the pictures. Are my posts too long? Too short? You want MORE PICTURES??? Feedback, please!!! Don’t be shy!

21 thoughts on “A Day in the Life

  1. Pictures are a great idea! Please continue to add pictures.

    Once you talked to me about bicycles and their use and condition. That would be interesting to share with the world… really any comparison between cultures (lifestyles; clothing styles; activities common to teens, common to adults; food, of course, food; stereotypes that Brazilians have of Americans (silly or dead on accurate). Keep it coming, Gabriela. I love to read your blog!

  2. You’re doing just great, Gabby! We all brazilians like to see your point of view on our culture and daily routine, and I’m also very glad to know that you’re enjoying your experience here :p Continue escrevendo, está muito bom ^^

    Your younger friend, Gabriel.

  3. LOVE the uniforms! Way better than those plaid mini skirts!

    I want to know more about FOOD – especially if you can get RECIPES. Also, do they garden at all or does everyone live in apartments like in Spain? Any local tasty things that are new to you? (like that lunch time cheese!)

    Big Hugs!
    ~A

      • By the way, Sweetie, your mom does not make authentic Mexican refritos. They really do fry them – in copious amounts of LARD. The lady I watched prepare them at least opted for corn oil. She had an enormous pot of cooked pinto beans at the ready. She put a GOOD 1/2 inch of corn oil in the bottom of a large skillet and heated it up. Then she spooned in the beans (Imagine the spatter of that much oil and lots of dripping beans!) and stirred them around for a while before proceeding to mash up some of them until the oil was all absorbed. They were delicious, but I am sure they’d kill me if I ate them with any regularity. – I make them more like you mom, I am sure.

        Have a great weekend!
        ~A

      • Haha no, she doesn’t make “authentic” ones, but those sound delicious…beans made with lard are definitely the best! But so bad for you 😦 why does that always happen??

  4. Gabby it’s really nice to see your lovely face! Tell me more about what the neighboring city is like in comparison to where you live. Also, what are the season’s like there? Do you live in the country or in town so to speak? What is the terrain like there? Is it brown or green there? I don’t know if this helps, but these are questions I wanted to ask. Oh and is your school a big or a smaller school?

  5. Describe what you do when you hang out with your friends. Have you found anyone who has seen Doctor Who? Have you converted anyone into a Whovian yet?

  6. I would love to see pictures of your ride to school. or the city, or the town or anything.
    do people know your an american right away? Or do they tell by the way you act (like different customs)?
    what type of sweets are there? food in general.
    are people more “friendly”?
    are they tech-savy?
    Any hot guys ;D jk jk

  7. Hi Gabby, I think it would be fun to see a picture of your school and your classroom and classmates. Also the house you are living in. Do they have shopping centers? How about a typical supermarket? For those of us who have never been there, it would be really neat to get a feel for life in general. You’re blogs are great! We look forward to them. Love ya! Pop and Nancy

Leave a Reply

