São Paulo!

Yesterday, I went on a school field trip to the state capital, São Paulo. It was really, really awesome, so now I’m going to  tell you all about it! We got on our buses a little after 1:30 am, at my school. São Paulo is about 6 hours away from Cândido Mota. We drove for about 4 hours and then stopped at the Rodoserv, which is like a rest stop except way, way nicer than the kind of rest stop that has a dirty bathroom and a vending machine. It has a really nice bathroom and an indoor area with a restaurant, sandwiches, a cafe, and a store. I had a misto quente, which is a sandwich made with french bread, mozzarella and ham, and then grilled, and an espresso. I was given 4 sugar packets to put in my espresso, and everyone thought I was weird when I didn’t use any! Anyway, we got back on the bus and headed into town…

My friend Carol and I, arriving in São Paulo!

What you see when first entering the city:   This is a favela, folks. This is where the poor people live. Right after you see some poor people houses, you start to see this: It’s pretty interesting how the really, really poor are right next to the really, really rich. Our first stop was the Instituto Butantan, one of the world’s biggest biomedical research centers. It is famous for making antidotes to snake venom as well, and has a museum section where visitors can see all the snakes that they keep there. Very cool, unless you don’t like snakes. Fortunately I think they’re pretty awesome. Next, we went to Museu de Ipiranga. This is a Brazilian history museum, which I absolutely loved. Unfortunately, visitors aren’t allowed to take pictures of the inside of the museum, which is a shame because the inside is more beautiful than the outside, which is really saying something!

Museu de Ipiranga

An observation: Museums in Brazil are a lot cheaper to visit than in the US. Ipiranga was 6 reais, which is about $3.50 USD. And it’s a really fancy museum! Other museums that we visited were also only about 6 reais, while in the States, museums are around $10, or more! Interesting. Anyway, after Ipiranga, our plan was to go to O Museu da Lingua Portuguesa (The Museum of the Portuguese Language) but we ended up going to an art museum across the street, called Pinacoteca. That was cool, but it was really hard to enjoy because we were all way too tired to be able to pay attention to art. Finally, we went to the mall. São Paulo has many huge shopping malls, and the one we went to has over 300 stores. In other words, it has all kinds of American fast food!! Some of my friends ate Burger King, while I enjoyed, for the first time in months, pepperoni pizza. Pepperoni is not very common here, because no one really likes it. They find it too spicy! We didn’t have very much time in the mall, so my friend Bruno and I went on an epic quest in search of books. The mall had two bookstores, one very small the other very big. Just our luck: the big bookstore was having a CD signing event for a Christian music band, so there was a huge crowd of people getting down with the Holy Spirit and blocking our access to the comic book/graphic novel section. This was a problem. However we dealt with it, and Bruno ended up getting his novels and I got my literature, including the Portuguese translation of one of my faves, “Dune.” Finally, all my friends and I finished the evening with Starbucks frapuccinos, which for them was an exciting taste of America, and for me a reminder that Starbucks really kind of sucks.

We got home around 4 am, and I slept until 2:30 pm this afternoon. All in all, a great day!

To see all the photos, click here!

Also, if you have any questions or comments, post them below!!! ❤

 

10 thoughts on “São Paulo!

  1. I love seeing all the photos! How cool that you got to go on a trip with your Brazilian friends… and adding that to Rotary trips, you’re a real jet setter. Nice!

    Your comment about the cost of the museum is typical. In many, many other countries, art (ballet, opera, etc) and museums are supported by government… governments that value their citizens of all income brackets learning culture and history.

    It’s a very sad statement about our government.

    Anyway, I love you and miss you and am so, so, so happy that you are happy. People keep asking me how you are (e.g. Mike Grattan today when I saw him at OSH) and I can always honestly answer that you are as happy as a clam.

    Take care, honey, and keep postin’!!

    Mama (with an accent on the second “a”)

    • haha I sure am! And yeah, I suppose that might have something to do with it :/
      I am definitely happier than a clam. Also I’m not sure if clams actually have emotions, so…
      And we definitely need to learn how to type accents so that we don’t have to write it out XD

      • I wonder if Dune reads differently in Portuguese than English. I remember an SF author named Best or Bester who posited that language not only lets us express ourselves, the language also guides us by limiting us to what it expresses. For instance, Mandarin, a context-specific language would be very difficult as a lingua-franca due the need to understand the context — transcribed text would read pretty funny unless great care is taken. His point is that perhaps a conflict-provoking language would steer a society in that direction, and a more mild language not. But to paraphrase Bones: “Dammit Jim, I am Geologist, not a Linguist!”

      • Yeah, it probably does, I have already reread the first 2 Harry Potter books in Portuguese and it definitely is different…although the story is the same so it’s close enough! XD

  2. Starbucks sucks? Oh… Disappointing. I never bought nothing from Starbucks and all the pictures i see on tumblr looks so… Delicious…

Leave a Reply

