December/January recap sorry-i-haven’t-posted-in-forever-thingie (with special edition music and crack!)

Yeah, I know, I know, I’m super behind on blog posts. I’ll try to be better about it….but no guarantees ;D Now, I was  going to write a post about the day we spent in Brasilia (the capital of Brazil) but there really isn’t that much to say, it’ll be much easier if you just check out the pictures. One thing that isn’t in the pictures however, is the fact that we went to TAIWAN! What happened was that we went to see the embassies of all our different countries. For the most part, we looked at the from a distance or took a photo in front. When we went to the Taiwanese embassy, however, the ambassador himself happened to be there, and he invited us all in! So, since the embassy is land that technically is part of Taiwan…I’ve been to Taiwan. Pretty amazing! Moving on: The month of December! School ended on December 2nd (remember, our summer is at the same time as the northern hemisphere’s winter! So our summer vacation is during December and January ) I didn’t do many things that are exciting and interesting during December, mostly just spending time with friends and going to end of year parties (as well as a couple of high school graduation dances).

Before going to a school's graduation dance- from left to right: Nathalia, Jéssica, me, Patricia, and Maria Fernanda

The important part of December, though, as we all know, is CHRISTMAS! Brazilian Christmas works something like this: The whole (extended) family gets together, starting around 9 or 10 at night on Christmas Eve. Until midnight they just hang out, eating hors d’ oeuvres and the like. At midnight, the actual Christmas festivities begin! A meal is served, and all the kids open their presents. Then, at around 2 or 3 in the morning, everyone goes home, sleeps, and on Christmas day the family gathers again, for a Christmas lunch. The thing that was really different was the amount of people. At our Christmas Eve celebration, there were around 30 people! Pretty bizarre for someone who is used to celebrating Christmas with only 5 people!

the Christmas sugar cookies I made! Everybody loved them!

There was another week of nothing super exciting happening (except that I got a couple of packages from home, which was GREAT) until New Year’s Eve. My friends and I went to a New Year’s party in Assis, which was great fun. I got home around 4:30 am, and woke up around 11:30 am to go to a family lunch. All I have to say is, I was really tired. So tired. So, so tired.

some friends and I on New Year's Eve...you'll notice that most of us are wearing white; it's a Brazilian tradition to wear white, as it represents peace, purity, good energy, all that nice stuff that we want to have in the New Year.

The pattern then repeated itself: a week or so of nothing exciting…and then a trip! My host family and I went to Southern Brazil, and it was really great. I will make a blog post dedicated to that, since this one is really just a recap, and it would become really disorganized and cluttered if I got into the specifics. We got back from our trip, I spent a couple of easy weeks, and then I moved (Rotary likes for the exchange students to switch houses a couple of times during the year)! I moved next door, to my “aunt’s” house (she’s my host mom now…haha it is a bit confusing). I have 2 younger brothers (one 16, who is in my class at school, and one 11) and it is pretty great. Now, I’ll do my best to get a couple of good, quality posts up sometime soon, we’ll see…

By the way, just to pass the time, shall we listen to some Brazilian MUSIC?

Okay, okay, fine!! No need to beg 😉

Currently a very popular song….here’s another one:

However, this (Luan Santana) is considered girl music. When guys hear it, they’re all like

hahahaha oh gosh I’m sorry I’ll stop using gifs they are so stupid XD

Anyway, music for the less girly:

And of course, there’s the classic stuff, which is great:

Okay, I’m signing off now! Sorry about all the gifs. It is so silly. Actually, you know what?

bye lovelies! talk to ya later 😉

Want to see more photos? Click here!

4 thoughts on “December/January recap sorry-i-haven’t-posted-in-forever-thingie (with special edition music and crack!)

  1. Oh my goodness. Please add gifs to every post! I love them! And it helps me to visualize everything better! I almost peed my pants when I saw the one that was like “ha ha… no” So funny! Keep up the awesome work my dear and that first singer is hott! I mean quite a handsome young specimen.

Leave a Reply

