Labor Day, Rain, and Superheroes

May the 1st is Labor Day here in Brazil, so last Friday my host family and I took the day off of work/school  to drive to the coast of São Paulo state, where my host dad’s cousin lives. The city we were visiting, Caraguatatuba, has a population of about 100,000 and is right on the beach…unfortunately, the whole weekend was foggy and grey, so we didn’t actually spend any time on the beach. Either way, it was a really fun trip and I can’t resist telling you all about how awesome it was.

I was woken up at around 4:30 am Friday morning, and we left around 5 am, which is way too early to do anything, especially sit in a small car with a hyperactive 11-year-old. To top it all, after about 30 minutes of driving, one of our tires went flat! Luckily, we were really close to a gas station and a mechanic’s. We pulled over, my host dad woke the mechanic (who apparently lives at his shop!) up, and we got it all sorted out. We drove on, and got to Caraguá in the afternoon. I was feeling pretty crappy, to be honest. I hadn’t been able to get much sleep in the car, and I had a pretty nasty headache. We ate lunch and I went ahead and crashed on a bed for a power nap. I woke up a couple hours later (“ooh but I thought power naps were supposed to be short and strong, hence the term ‘power nap’” you may argue. Well, I say nuts to that. It was one powerful nap. You weren’t there. You have no idea how powerful my naps can be.) feeling much better. I got myself cleaned up and we went to the city’s newest mall, to go to the movies! Bear in mind, the closest movie theater to me right now is about 40 minutes away, so I haven’t actually watched a movie in a movie theater for almost 9 months (the last movie I watched in a theater was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2, in the week before I left). The movie we were going to see was, of course, “The Avengers” (“of course? What do you mean, of course?” you ask, interrupting my monologue yet again. Well I sure as hell wasn’t going to watch “Titanic 3D” or “American Pie Reunion.” You should know me better than that.), the Marvel Comics superhero movie that comes out in the USA on May 4th. Here, and in many other countries, it was out on Friday.

The movie theater was packed, and, although I know this blog is intended to be about Brazil and my life and stuff, not movie reviews, you’re going to have to bear with me because I just have to talk about this movie for a little bit here.

THE AVENGERS

THEEEE AVENGEERRRRRRS

It was possibly the most BADASS movie I have ever seen in my LIFE. And I watch a lot of movies. I love comic books, and one of the great things about superhero comics is how over-the-top they can be. The hero is excessively perfect, the villain excessively shallow and evil, the technology ridiculously advanced, and the battles exaggeratedly cool. The movie captured this perfectly. Everything was BIG and DRAMATIC and ROBERT DOWNEY JR and EXPLOSIONS and OH MY! We watched it with subtitles as opposed to dubbed in Portuguese, for which I’m thankful (a lot of the references or jokes in the dialogue are distinctly American, if you know what I mean, and I doubt it works as well in Portuguese) and in 3D. It was my first time watching a movie in 3D, and I was never a huge fan of the idea. I always thought it was just a gimmick, but now that I’ve seen a movie in 3D, I can give an informed opinion: yeah, it’s a gimmick. It didn’t improve the movie, the movie would have been just as good without it, and the glasses (like many glasses) didn’t really fit on my nose, so they were sort of annoying. But now I know! Either way, it’s definitely a movie that needs to be seen on the big screen to be appreciated. Another thing that I really liked was that you don’t really need to have seen any of the preceding movies to enjoy it. As long as you are at least somewhat familiar with the characters, or even if you aren’t familiar with them at all, it’s still an awesome movie.

GRATUITOUS PATRIOTISM YEAHHHHH AMERICA HOME OF THE FREEEEEEEEEE

Also, I’d just like to express my love for Captain America. He’s my favorite of all the Avengers, and I’m not really sure why. You’d think I’d be turned off by the excessive patriotism he represents (his outfit is based on the American flag, for heaven’s sake!) but I really, really like him.

Maybe I like him so much because I like the fact that the character was invented in the 1940s and he retains that WWII style and attitude, he has that quintessential underdog story (he’s a useless, though well-meaning, little nerd, and science makes him STRONG and MANLY, YEAH!), and he’s just too dang cute. Besides that, Captain America and I have a history…I can vaguely remember tracing a drawing of him out of my brothers “How to Draw Superheroes” book onto a sheet of lined paper when I was little, and I know that my brother and took and old black and white Captain America movie out of the library at least once (possibly twice) and that I really liked it. All I can remember about it is that a guy shoots himself in the beginning, and Captain America wears tights and beats people up for the rest of it, but I remember that young me thought it was pretty awesome.

The very first Captain America comic book, in which he punches Hitler in the face. Ah, those were the days...

Oh hello T-Hids.
Why is it that villains are either super-ugly or super-attractive? Whatever. Tom Hiddleston wearing sassy armor and being sinister is fine with me any day.

One more thing about “The Avengers” before I go on to other topics: Tom Hiddleston, who played  Loki, is an excellent actor, and played the villain wonderfully…also he has a beautiful face.

Alright, I’m done (seriously, I could go on for pages and pages about superheroes, comic books, movies, patriotism, Tom Hiddleston’s face, and sassy tights, but you’d fall asleep, so I won’t)

On to the rest of the weekend!

Saturday was a lazy day, but it was nice. We slept in, and then went to a neighboring city, Ubatuba, to look around. It’s a really nice area, lots of trees, on the beach, it’s pretty perfect. The whole area is really very nice, aesthetically speaking. There are mountains, lots of green, and the cities slightly reminded me of Monterey (they don’t really look like Monterey, but it had that kind of vibe, if you know what I mean.)

Sorry about the quality here, there must have been a smudge on the lens...
OOOH NO THAT'S JUST ME

Sunday night we went out for dinner and I ate too much sushi and it was amazing.

I woke up on Monday to rain. It rained the whole day, but since it was our last day there, we went out and did things anyway. During the day we went shopping, and my host mom and my host dad’s cousin (Marta) bought me a pair of gorgeous boots as an early birthday present. That was a really pleasant surprise, since I was planning on buying the boots anyway!

MY BOOOOTS (it's not a great photo, but they are dark brown, close to black but not quite, and really really spiffy)

That night, we took a ferry to a nearby island called Ilhabela. It looked really nice in the dark and rain, so I can only imagine how it must look on a sunny day! It is a really pleasant (though a bit tourist-y) place, and I really enjoyed it.

We left Tuesday morning, and I’m back to normal life (which means school tomorrow, oh nooo). It was a really nice trip though, with really nice people, so it was definitely worth it!

I wasn’t able to get lots of pictures from this trip, unfortunately, but those that I did take can be found here

here is a boat for you.

Thanks for reading! 😉

4 thoughts on “Labor Day, Rain, and Superheroes

  1. I have three things to say:
    1) Caraguatatuba
    2) Ubatuba 🙂
    3) You look beautiful in your picture.
    4) Okay 4 things — nice boots!!
    5) Alright already, 5 things. I always sorta liked Hulk.

    ❤ Mamá

    • Haha yeah, they are indian names 😉
      and thaaaanks they ARE nice boots! And I remember you telling me that you liked the Hulk. Hulk IS pretty awesome, but Captain America is the besssst 😉

  2. Haha so you should watch this… I thought it was quite funny!

    Of course you might have seen it already 🙂 Can’t wait to see you again!!!!!!!! :DDDDD

Leave a Reply

